Parent Taught Drivers Ed Texas – TXDPS Approved
Our approved teen drivers ed program is designed to be used in conjunction the TX DPS parent taught program. We cover the classroom portion of the course while the parent is responsible for documenting behind the wheel driver training in the driving log that we provide.
Teen Drivers Ed – Process for Completion
- Sign up for this course
- Download the DL-92 form during registration as prompted
- Complete the form and submit it to the DPS
- Wait for approval (about 2 weeks)
- Log on and start your drivers ed course
- Work through all steps outlined within the course
- Receive your certificate and go get your license
The course is available for $75.00. Once you are ready to begin simply click the get started button below to complete course registration.
Frequently Asked Questions about Parent Taught Teen Drivers Ed
If you need a copy of the parent taught driver education packet click here. This packet includes everything you need to start your parent taught course. After you receive the packet you can register for the classroom portion of the course by clicking a get started button on this page.
Texas state law requires that the new driver is at least 15 years of age prior to beginning a drivers ed program.
After you pay the $20.00 application fee to the state to receive approval to take a parent taught course the only thing you will have to pay for is the online course which includes the classroom portion of the program and many extras to help train safe drivers. The online course cost is $75.00.
Once you receive the packet from the DPS and complete the first part of the online course, you may begin behind the wheel training. All driving time will be recorded in the driver log book included in the packet and with the course.
After you receive approval from the DPS, you can begin the course immediately after you register by clicking the get started button below.